East Garo Hills district is politically represented as follows:

  1. In the Indian Parliament by one MP each at the Rajya Sabha & the Lok Sabha.
  2. In the Meghalaya State Legislative Assembly by three MLAs.
  3. In the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council by three MDCs.
  • In the Rajya Sabha, the district and the State of Meghalaya as a whole, is represented by one MP.
  • In the Lok Sabha, the three Assembly Constituencies of the district forms part of one Lok Sabha Constituency, i.e. the 2-Tura Parliamentary Constituency.
  • The three Assembly Constituencies in the district are viz. 41-Songsak (ST) AC, 42-Rongjeng (ST) AC & 43-Williamnagar (ST) AC.
  • In the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council, three MDCs represent the district from the three GHADC Constituencies, viz. 27-Samandagre, 28-Darugre & 29-Williamnagar GHADC Constituencies.


There are 3 (three) Assembly Constituencies of the Meghalaya State Legislative Assembly within the East Garo Hills District of Meghalaya. The Assembly Constituencies are as follows:

  • 41 – Songsak (ST) Assembly Constituency
  • 42 – Rongjeng (ST) Assembly Constituency
  • 43 – Williamnagar (ST) Assembly Constituency


The Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC) is seated at Tura and covers East Garo Hills district, North Garo Hills district, West Garo Hills district, South-West Garo Hills district and South Garo Hills district. It is one of the three Autonomous District Councils within Meghalaya state, and one of fourteen autonomous regions of India.

There are 3 (three) Distrct Council Constituencies of the GHADC within the East Garo Hills district. The District Council constituencies are:

  • 27 – Samandagre District Council Constituency
  • 28 – Darugre District Council Constituency
  • 29 – Williamnagar District Council Constituency