Welcome to

East Garo Hills District was upgraded from a sub-division to a full-fledged district in 1976, after the erstwhile Garo Hills District was reorganised with a view to bring the administration closer to the people. In 2012 East Garo Hills District was further reorganised to form a new district out of the erstwhile Resubelpara Sub-Division. The District is bounded by South Garo Hills on the south, West Garo Hills on the west, West Khasi Hills on the east and North Garo Hills on the north.

The headquarter-complex, Williamnagar is a neatly planned township, christened after Captain Williamson A. Sangma, the first Chief Minister of the State of Meghalaya. Williamnagar now has all the amenities of a modern town and is the largest growth centre in Garo Hills, next to Tura.

This web portal is designed as an interface of the District Administration of East Garo Hills District, to disseminate information about the district to the public and as a step towards an administration that is more transparent and participatory in nature. We welcome your views and suggestions, please refer us to others and visit again. Thank you!

East Garo Hills at a Glance

District Name East Garo Hills
District Headquarter Williamnagar
Area Total - 1517.00 sq. kms. (approx.)
Rural - 1507.28 sq. kms. (approx.)
Urban - 9.72 sq. kms. (approx.)
Location lies between 25.24ºN & 26.10ºN Latitude
and 90ºE & 91.3ºE Longitude
District Boundaries West Khasi Hills district in the East
West Garo Hills district in the East
North Garo Hills district in the North
South Garo Hills district in the South
(as per 2011 Census) Total - 1,45,798
Male - 74,352
Female - 71,446
Sex Ratio per 1000 males - 961
Rural - 1,21,201
Urban - 24,597
Population Density per sq. km. - 96
...More East Garo Hills at a Glance