mining and geology Department

DIVISIONAL MINING OFFICE(under the Directorate of Mineral Resources)

The Department of Mining & Geology was created out of its parent Department of Assam Government during the bifurcation of the State of Meghalaya in the year 1972. The Directorate of Mineral Resources (DMR) under the administrative control of the Department of Mining & Geology with its Headquarters at Shillong has 2(two) Divisional Mining Officesat Jowai and Williamnagar, and 15(fifteen) other checkgates located on different strategic routes in the State. The Directorate is a multidisciplinary organization comprising of a team of Geologists, Mining Engineers, Drilling Engineers, Chemists including technical and non-technical staff. The two main sections of the Directorate are:

1. Geology section- Investigation of mineral deposits by mapping, surveying, drilling and chemical analysis

2. Mining Section- Administration of mines and minerals, collection of Revenue in the form of royalty and cess on minerals, etc



Roles/functions of Divisional Mining Office, Williamnagar:

1) Collection of royalty and cess on major minerals
2) Collection of royalty on minor minerals specified in Schedule -II of the Meghalaya Minor Mineral Concession Rules, 2016 (MMMCR,2016)
3) Collection of cess on minor minerals as per the Meghalaya Minerals Cess (Amendment) Act, 2020
4) Grant of mining lease (for areas below 5 hectares) on minor minerals specified in Schedule -II of the MMMCR, 2016 inGaro Hills region
5) Approval of mining plan for minor minerals specified in Schedule -II and Schedule -III of the MMMCR, 2016 in Garo Hills region
6) Divisional Mining Officeralso functions as Member Secretary, District Mineral Foundation.


Who's Who
Designation Name Contact
Divisional Mining Officer   Phone: ,



Related Websites


The site is still a work in progress, please bear with us. Any comments and suggestions will be appreciated.