District Administration

The District Administration is headed by the Deputy Commissioner [DC]. The DC is the executive head of the district. The DC also acts as the Collector in case of Revenue matters, as District Magistrate in case of maintenance of Law and Order and General Administration, as District Election Officer in case of conduct of Election and so on. The Deputy Commissioner is aided by a number of officers like Additional Deputy Commissioners, Sub-Divisional Officers, Extra Assistant Commissioners and others.

An important aspect of district administration is the maintainence of law and order, to give proper security and to safeguard the lives and properties of the citizen. As the District Magistrate, the DC is assisted by Additional Deputy Commissioners, Sub-Division Magistrates and other Executive Magistrates to maintain law and order in the district. The District Magistrate keeps a close link with police department in this regard. In the district, the District Police Setup is headed by the Superintendent of Police .

The Judiciary Setup in the District is headed by the District & Sessions Judge, who is aided by the Chief Judicial Magistrate & a team of Judicial Magistrates.

The Administrative Units of the district are the Community &Rural Development (C&RD) Blocks, Municipalities, Assembly Constituencies, District Council Constituencies and various Government Line Department & Agencies.

The site is still a work in progress, please bear with us. Any comments and suggestions will be appreciated.